Forget Breakfast in Bed, Try a Bed and Breakfast

It’s hard to remember what the world was like pre-Google, pre-Uber, pre-Amazon Prime and pre-Facebook.

But, just the other day, I caught a glimpse of what the pre-Airbnb world looked like and let me tell you, it was a very thick book.

When the author, Pamela Lanier (who evidently is an expert in the B&B sphere) published her first B&B guide, the list totaled a mere 1,200 locations.

By the time the 17th edition came around (the one you see me holding here), Bed & Breakfasts Inns and Guesthouses, the list had grown to 21,000 and today Lanier’s 26th edition sports over 30,000.

While that’s nothing compared to the 4 million “B&B” listings on Airbnb’s website, my limited knowledge of the hospitality industry has shown me there are plenty of difference experienced in the “lodging world.” Hotels are not the same as motels, just like a classic bed and breakfast isn’t the same as Airbnb.

After reading a few of these listings, I almost came to the conclusion that Airbnb was the motel version of bed and breakfasts (I mean no disrespect to the hosts and guests reading out there, I love a good Airbnb stay).

Though it doesn’t appear Ms. Lanier seems to mind one way or another. A good local lodging experience is hard to beat.

“Pamela is delighted with the growth of the industry and very committed to representing and promoting small and independent lodging worldwide in many ways,” according to her website.

I return to my earlier point, this book is definitely an artifact from the pre-Airbnb days. But, I’ll admit I’m intrigued.

Maybe I’ll book one of these old listings next time I’m on the road.

Leave a comment